Chamber News

moss simmons

The Siloam Springs Chamber of Commerce is proud to announce the decision of the 2015 Pioneer Citizen Selection Committee. The recipients of this year's award are Mike Moss, Jr. and Mark Simmons. These two men have been shining examples of the Pioneer Citizen criteria for many years and we look forward to recognizing them this way.

The Pioneer Citizen award is given to a member of the Siloam Springs community who leads with their heart, who faces new challenges, and who paves the way for new frontiers. Recipients must meet the following criteria:
  • Be a resident of Siloam Springs for at least 10 years 
  • Be 65 years old or older
  • Be heavily involved, past or present, in various activities or committees of the City of Siloam Springs or the Siloam Springs Chamber of Commerce. The recipient's activities are to have either:
a. enhanced the economic or cultural development of Siloam Springs, OR
b. promoted Siloam Springs on a state, national, or international level.

1984 - Delbert Allen, Sr. & Russell Elrod
1985 - Tom Whiteside
1986 - Crawford Burgess
1987 - Bob Henry
1988 - Homer Bynum
1989 - Cecil Smith & Mattalou Roth
1990 - Dr. James Huskins
1991 - Mike Moss, Sr.
1992 - John Brown, Jr.
1993 - Martha "Bitsy" Stockton
1994 - Marion Snider
1995 - Dr. H.M. "Doc" Flickinger
1996 - Eldon Robb
1997 - Wayne Allen & Nancy Randall
1998 - Grady Lamb & Barbara Akins
1999 - Carl McQuay
2000 - Caroline Brown & Maggie Smith
2001 - Bill Ruble & Laurine Barnett
2002 - Ervin Taylor & Nancy Van Poucke
2003 - Ross Stout & Leah Houston
2004 - Tony Barnes & Lorraine Moss
2005 - Karl Mounger & Joallen Moose
2006 - M. L. "Moose" Van Poucke & Gloria McEnroe
2007 - Ray Barnett & Sharon Wasson
2008 - Myron "Pete" Peters & Doris Elrod Ramsey
2009 - Delbert "Pete" Allen & Janice Mounger
2010 - Walter Gray & Donetta Samuels
2011 - Chandler "Bub" Gunter & Art Morris
2012 - Lloyd Fagan & Bep Morrison
2013 - Bob Wasson & Mary Benjamin
2014 - Linda Brown, James Fuller (posthumously) & Louie Thomas
2015 - Mike Moss, Jr. & Mark Simmons

If you would like to attend the 85th Annual Banquet of the Siloam Springs Chamber of Commerce, please join us on Thursday, February 5, 2015, at 6:00 pm in the Simmons Great Hall at John Brown University. The keynote address is a panel of local industry representatives focusing on Siloam Springs doing business around the world.

Contact Mary at the Chamber Office to purchase your ticket for $40 (members) or $45 (non-members) at 479-524-6466 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., before January 27th.

We appreciate our Presenting Sponsor Nabholz Construction Services and our Gold Sponsors Cherokee Casino & Hotel, La-Z-Boy and Simmons Foods.



Latest Fox News Update

SS MOVING-2 AD 160X320